Blueberry Yogurt Muffins

image

Today and tomorrow is my DS’s birthday.  Puzzling?  It’s hardly a great mystery but it tickles me every year. Haha.  My DS was born in Michigan on July 27, 10 pm.  At the same time, it was July 28, 10 am in Singapore.  Isn’t that brilliant? haha. Happy birthday, my dear BB.

School reopens today.  So I got to baking again.  Hearty, low GI-ish stuffs that will sustain The Kids longer as they don’t get home for lunch till about 2.30.  I don’t like that our school kids are having lunch at past 2.30 when everyone else is already having their afternoon kopi (coffee) by then. So I try and make their breakfast and recess count.

The muffins are quite moist and tender.  They are not too sweet, just right for me. In this blueberry muffin recipe, I used dried blueberries instead of fresh ones.  I find them easier to use and store, so I always have those on hand.  They puff up when hydrated in the batter, so you get nice puffy blueberries and nobody will suspect that you didn’t use fresh ones. The flax seed meal and almond flour adds heartiness to the muffin.  You may leave out the flax seed meal and sub the almond flour with plain flour if you don’t have almond flour.  Or you can replace the plain flour with wholemeal flour.  This is a rather versatile recipe.  The key is this: Just keep to the amount and switch around. i.e. 1/4 cup of coconut oil can be replaced with 1/4 cup vege oil or melted butter etc.  I love this recipe for that. Oh and also coz at the end, I only have to wash one bowl and one spoon.

 

image

Blueberry Yogurt Muffins (makes 7)

3/4 cup plain flour

1/4 cup almond flour

1/8 cup flax seed meal

1.5 tsp baking powder

1 large egg

1/2 cup plain yogurt (no added sugar)

1/4 cup virgin coconut oil

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

3 handfuls of dried blueberries (dusted with 2 tsp cornflour to prevent sinking)

Mix everything together, adding in the blueberries last.  Do not over mix, otherwise you will overdevelop the gluten in the flour and the muffin will be rubbery.

Pour into 7 muffin cups and bake at 180c for about 20 min or until cooked.