Chia “Sago” Gula Melaka

image

Lemme just say this at the start. There are no sago in this sago gula melaka pudding.  All pure chia seeds.

Whenever I add chia seeds into the water, everyone gives me a face. And some how manage to sieve out the chia seeds when they drink it. 8( So I gave up trying to give my family good food.  Being stuck with A LOT of chia seeds, I had to come up with ways to consume them.  Decided to finally give chia seed pudding a go.  It was really good.  I had soaked them overnight in milk and I had it with maple syrup. Major Mmmm moment.  That was when I had a light bulb moment as well!  Coz they look like sago, kinda taste like sago (well actually sago has no taste, just like Chia), perhaps I can pull a fast one on my family! A fake sago gula melaka pudding, but no sago!

image

Well, they were suspicious coz of the color.  So I had to confess.  But they tried it anyhow coz of the gula melaka (we really love our gula melaka) and it received all 6 thumbs up!!  This is major YAY! Coz chia sago gula melaka doesn’t need any cooking AT ALL! *clap hands

Chia “Sago” Gula Melaka (serves 1)

1/8 cup chia seeds

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup coconut milk

About 1 tsp gula melaka

Soak the chia seeds in water and coconut milk over night.  Serve with gula melaka.  If you can’t get that, brown sugar, maple syrup or honey will do too.

 

