Yeasted Cake Donut

image

 

Recently, it suddenly occurred to me that I have many chocolate cake and bakes recipes.  I’ve decided to categorize them under the following headings: Light & Airy CC, Dense & Intense CC, Easy Speedy CC, Creamy Cheesy CC and Steamed CC.  Lately I added another category: Yeasted CC. The key is as long as they are chocolatey enough, they are all good. My current favorite is this yeasted one that I came up with recently.  It’s easy too , just not very speedy.  But it’s worth the wait.  Unfortunately for me, I can only make 6 at a time as I only have one donut pan. *sob

image

Yeasted Chocolate Donut Cake (makes 6)

2 large eggs

100-125g sugar

100 plain flour

25g cocoa powder

1/2 tsp instant coffee powder (optional)

1 tsp yeast

150ml milk

1/4 tsp salt

70g melted butter

Melt butter.  Add in cocoa powder while butter is still warm to bring out the flavor of the cocoa. Let it cool till you can stick your finger in.  Add in everything else, leaving flour and yeast till last. Mix well. Leave it to rise for about an hour, until it is foamy.

Grease the donut pan well to prevent sticking.  Pour batter into the mold, filling up to the top.  Bake for about 20 min at 180c.

Leave it to cool in the pan for about 1/2 hr before removing.

It tastes like cake with a slight chew.  It’s chocolatey, not too sweet…  That’s about all I can say coz even tho I’ve made it several times, I only got to eat a grand total of one donut cake. And not all in one sitting.  But to quote my kids, they said it’s very yummy!  So must be good!

