Croutons

What does one do with all that bread? Sometimes I end up with more bread than we can eat in a day or two.  I don’t enjoy stale bread. Nor bread and butter pudding. Sometimes I’ll make French toast or freeze the bread.

Then my good friend from San Diego gave me a great idea. Make croutons, she said. No recipe. Just toss with some fat and flavoring/aromatics, bake it in the oven at low temperature till crunchy.

image

In this case, I cut my cranberry focaccia into cubes and tossed them in about a tbsp of melted ghee and some sugar. Then I spread them out on a cookie sheet and baked them at about 140c for about 15 min or until they are dry and crunchy and yummy! Just eat it on its own.

The possibilities are endless.  If you like savoury croutons, you can try a simple garlic and butter croutons, or rosemary and garlic with extra virgin olive oil.  I have a sweet tooth, so I prefer sweet croutons.  I would use raisin bread, or some other kind of sweet bread. Once I spread some chocolate hazelnut spread on the bread, cut into cubes and toast. It was sooo amazing! None of us could stop eating it!

The Kids brought them to school today for recess and it was a hit with their friends as well.  In the next few days, I’ll probably be very busy making lots of bread so that we’ll have extra to make all kinds of croutons for Monday. 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

