Healthier Muffins

image

Recently while I was baking bread using all white flour, it suddenly occurred to me that whilst my bread has no preservatives, it doesn’t have any beneficial additives like vitamins either. Commercial loaf bread usually has added calcium and vitamins to up the nutritive value of the bread. Since my kids usually pack food for recess in school, I really should be more diligent and pay more attention to the ingredients I use. Thus I was prompted to dig deep into my freezer for my temporarily forgotten flax seed meal, wholemeal flour, almond flour etc to replace some of the white flour. Totally white flour food should be reserved for fun snack food.

With this in mind, I dug out my muffin recipe and swapped some white flour out for coconut flour, almond flour, flax seed meal and whole meal flour. Of course that changed the recipe.  This is usually how I come up with new recipes. Armed with an attitude that with a bit of common sense, nothing can go wrong.

Healthier Muffins

1 1/2 stick melted butter

1/4 cup milk/water/almond milk etc

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/4 cup almond flour

1/4 cup flaxseed meal

3 large eggs

1/4 cup white wholemeal flour

1/2 cup plain flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

2 handfuls of dried cranberries/currants/ nuts/good quality chocolate chips etc

1 tsp vanilla essence

Melt butter in a large pot.  Cool it till you can touch without seriously burning yourself. Add in the ingredients, one at a time, according to the way it is listed in my recipe.

Using a whisk, stir until it combines together.  Divide evenly into 12 muffin cups.  I usually use paper cases to line my muffin pan.  It’s so much easier this way for prepping, portioning and cleaning up.

Preheat oven to about 180c.  Bake for about 20 min or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the middle.

The texture of the muffin tastes just like a regular muffin, a little coarse, not fine like cake.  It’s not too sweet but I compensated by adding in more cranberries.  The nuts and seeds make it more hearty and more nutritious.  Definitely better as a recess food than white bread and butter with sugar.  Just as yummy.

 

 

