Busting My Yarn Stash

Over the past 6-7 years since I started knitting/crocheting, I have accumulated so much yarn that I am running out of space to store them.  My drawers and cupboards so over runneth that now I have started stashing them under my bed. I think I have enough yarn to open up a little yarn store.  The only problem is that I don’t think I could have borne parting with my precious yarn.  Not that they are anything special.  Most of them are just cheap acrylic yarn. Cheap acrylic yarn they might be, but each one of them represent such great potential to me.  I have churned out so many knitted/crocheted bags/dolls/softies etc from them.  They also provide therapy for me and my mom (a dementia patient).

 

 

I find it hard to part with my yarn.  Up to the very last bit.  In the past year, I have been taking all the bits and pieces and tying them up together and I am proud to show you my skein of Stash Buster Yarn!

image

We are knitting a keyboard cover out of it.  My yarn is mostly 8 ply.  We cast on 60 stitches using 3.75mm knitting needles.  I chose this needle size because I wanted a closer knit to keep the dust off my keyboard.  Then just knit till it’s long enough.  I’m not sure how long that is going to take.  But that’s ok.  People who knit/crochet will understand that it’s the knitting/crocheting and not the end product that is all the fun.

