Apple Cheesecake

image

I got this idea from a cheesecake my good friend gave me. I thought the apple pie cheesecake was really nice. Only thing was that there wasn’t enough apples. I want an apple pie cheesecake that is chock full of apple pie filling. I don’t know where to get that.  So, as always, if I can’t find it, I’ll have to make it.

It’s my same basic cheesecake recipe but with an extra step. That extra step is to make apple pie filling. Which really isn’t difficult.

Apple pie filling

3 granny smith apples

4 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon powder

Skin and cube the apples. Cook them in a pot over the stove with sugar and cinnamon until the apples are tender. This won’t take long.  Do make sure to keep an eye on it and stir constantly to prevent it from sticking or burning.  Leave it aside to cool.

Biscuit base

100g biscuits of your choice (I used cheese crackers coz I have way too many of those)

1/2 stick of butter

Crush the biscuits and mix with the butter. Press crumbs onto an 8″x 8″ lined pan. Pop it into the oven to toast for about 10 min at 150c.

Cheesecake filling

500g cream cheese (room temperature)

2-3 tbsp lemon juice

4 eggs

125 tbsp sugar

4 tbsp plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

apple pie filling

Cream the sugar with cream cheese until smooth. Add in eggs, one at a time, making sure batter is well mixed with each addition. This is to ensure minimal lumps. Add in lemon juice, flour and baking powder. Lastly, fold in the apple pie filling. Then pour the batter on top of the biscuit crumb.

Bake bain marie at 150c for about 30 min. Leave oven door ajar and let it cool down in the oven for a couple of hours.  Then refrigerate.

It’s best eaten cold. Not hot or warm, so let this be a real test of your patience.😁

 

 

 

 

 

 

