Coconut Chocolate Muffins

image

Usually I would take a recipe and hack it beyond recognition. I usually do it to save time, and coz I-wonder-if-I-can-do-it-this-way, and coz I always feel that MY way is the better way coz it’s the short cut faster way. “Softened butter? Let’s melt it. That should be soft enough!”; “That sounds like a lot of sugar. Let’s save some money and half the sugar. Haha!”;”Cream the butter and sugar together? Let’s cut short and cream everything in one go!”;”I think I shall use oil instead of butter.” Etc etc. Then I wonder why it turned out different. As my friend Shanice said, “Sure will turn out. Only whether good or bad.” Haha. *What, pray tell, can go wrong with anything CHOCOLATE??

This coconut chocolate muffin is one of my hacks. I changed the method and ingredients and viola! A brand new recipe is born.

Coconut Chocolate Muffins (makes 8-9)

1/3 of a block of 250g salted butter, melted. (Just eyeball it)

1/4 cup cocoa powder

Scant 1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup coconut milk (from packet so it’s quite thick)

1/4 water

3/4 cup flour (plain flour or white whole wheat)

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp vanilla essence

1/2 tsp instant coffee (this enhances the chocolate flavor)

Melt and brown butter slightly. When butter is still hot, add in cocoa powder. This will “open” up the chocolate flavor. Let it cool down (a little warm is ok). Then in goes everything else. Stir with a whisk to blend everything together.  Leave it to rest for a little while (up to 30 min). Scoop into muffin cases. Bake at 180c for about 20 min or until when you insert a toothpick and it comes out clean.

Enjoy. It’s chocolate.

*once I doubled the recipe but forgot to double the sugar. So it was pretty tasteless. Even then I managed to salvage it by making a simple sweet milky sauce for it. My friend Susan happened to stop by and I served  that to her. To this day, she still raves about it. See? It’s chocolate! Nothing can go wrong. Haha. 

