Bobo Chacha (shortcut)

image

When I said in my previous post that it’s now school Hols and we have time, I meant the Underlings. Not me. I always have to produce food fast. That’s why I love shortcuts.

Bobo chacha is my mom’s favorite dessert. She used to cook a huge pot when I was young. I didn’t fancy it so much then because of 3 things: I love sago and there was never enough; I didn’t like taro; and the sweet potatoes were never sweet.

So this recipe is not the traditional bobo chacha. Mine is quick and it is the way I like it.

image
Indonesian honey sweet potatoes

Bobo Chacha (my way)

2 sweet potatoes

1/4 cup small sago

1 pkt coconut milk (200ml)

brown sugar or gula Melaka

1  pandan leaf

Boil sweet potatoes whole with their skin. This retains the sweetness of the sweet potatoes. It takes about 10-20 min to cook, depending on the size of your sweet potatoes. Then dunk in cold water for easy peeling. Dice them up.

Boil 2-3 cups of water. Only when the water is rapidly boiling do you add in the sago. If the water is not boiling, the sago will turn into goop. Give it an occasional stir and boil until sago is almost clear but still a little white in the middle. Then strain and add in *fresh water (doesn’t have to be hot now). Pour in a pkt of coconut milk, put in a pandan leaf and bring to a boil. Add in the diced sweet potatoes. Sweeten with brown sugar or gula Melaka to taste.

image

Serve it hot. And soon. Coz as you delay, the sago will absorb more liquid and the whole thing will resemble tapioca pudding. Which I also likey so it’s ok for me.

*how much water to add depends on how soupy you like your bobo chacha to be.

