Sweet Peanut Soup

image

It’s the end of the year school holidays now.  The Underlings will be home until next year.  Activities will have to be planned, school books to clear and school books to buy, Christmas trees (yes, trees)to trim, growing Underlings to be fed regularly, many times a day.  I have to dig deep into my memory for recipes long forgotten.  Today as I was digging, I found deep in my fridge a packet of peanuts.  I had bought that some time ago to cook my grandma’s traditional sweet peanut soup.  Usually I would buy canned peanut soup as it takes a long time to cook peanuts till they are soft.  But the canned ones are just too sweet.  It’s not difficult, really.  Just time consuming.  Today, we have time.  That’s the thing about school holidays.  We have time.

image

Sweet Peanut Soup

150g peeled peanuts

3 cups hot water

Sugar to taste

Wash peanuts.  Put peanuts and hot water into the slow cooker and let it do its magic till peanuts are soft.  This should take a few hours.  Then sweeten to your liking.

I used to eat it with glutinous rice balls aka tang yuan.  It was my mom’s favourite dessert.  I never liked it coz I always find the tang yuan too big and soggy for my liking.  Personally I prefer my tang yuan dry.  That’ll be another post, coming soon.

Happy holidays Everyone.

 

