Sweet Potato Buns

I haven’t had Brown n Serve rolls since 2007. I love those for their pillowy soft yumminess. I can eat a lot of butter with those. A Lot.

Recently, I was reminded of them again when I made sweet potato buns. I haven’t had Brown n Serve for so long that I can’t recall the exact taste. But if I were to compare, this sweet potato bun is it. Maybe better. ūüėĀ

This is my favorite easy no-knead bread recipe which I use all the time. It’s easy coz I took out all the lengthy steps like kneading and egg-washing the buns for the healthy tan look. Not necessary. ¬†It’s so simple that these days, I don’t even measure the flour anymore. Just measure the liquid. Then put in enough flour to form a nice slightly tacky dough. It’s that forgiving.

image

Sweet Potato Buns

1 cup hand-warm water

150g boiled sweet potato (yellow Indonesian honey type)

1 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp salt

2 tsp yeast

2 cups plain flour

1 cup bread flour (hold back the last 1/4 cup in case not needed)

2 tbsp butter/oil

Mix everything together by hand in a large bowl, holding back the last 1/4 cup, only adding if dough is too sticky. Dough will be tacky. When dough is well mixed, cover and leave in a warm place for about 60 min or until dough has more or less doubled. ¬†Divide dough into 12 buns and place on greased/lined cookie sheet. ¬†Let it proof a second time for 20-30 min. Then bake at 180c for about 15-20 min. ¬†Do not over bake. Buns will look light and you may start to doubt if they are cooked. ¬†I doubt it every time and every time, they are perfect. Soft and chewy and pillowy. ¬†Just wonderful. It’s my kryptonite.

Variations: Raisins, cranberries, nuts, chocolate chips, poppy seeds, sesame seeds etc may be added to the dough after the 1st rise.  These can be made into hamburger buns.  Just make them bigger. They can be stuffed as well. With curry chicken (my fav), lotus paste, red bean paste, hot dogs, luncheon meat. You are only limited by your imagination.

