Pizza

image

I was in a hurry. It was already 6 pm. It’s actually dinner time but since the guys were not home yet, I was dilly dallying. When I opened the fridge, it seemed everything was pointing towards pizza. So I decided to make a speedy pizza. Speedza. 😁

Usually when I make yeasted bread, if I have lotsa time, I would cut down on the yeast to about 1 tsp. Then I would give it a longer time to proof. This gives your bread a more developed flavor.  If I have less time, I would then provide a more encouraging environment for the yeast. First, I would use more yeast. Second, use more sugar. Third, give the yeast a nice warm start and a nice warm environment to work its magic. For that, I would use warm water and provide a warm water bath.

By doing these 3 things, I can get the pizza out in about an hour, as opposed to 2-3 hours.

image

Speedza (serves 4, with leftovers😉)

1 cup warm water (like bath temperature.)

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil  + more for drizzling and oiling

1 tbsp sugar

1 tsp salt

1.5-2 tbsp yeast

1 cup plain flour

2 cups *bread flour

Basic Fixings:

Bottled spaghetti sauce, mozarella cheese

Optional fixings: olives, ham, luncheon meat aka Spam, bak kwa, mushrooms, broccoli, tuna, sardines, whatever.

Put all the ingredients for the dough into a big mixing bowl and mix together by hand till they are more or less well combined (about 20 sec). Leave it to rise in a warm place for about 20 min or less (I just sit the mixing bowl in warm water). Dough is ready when doubled in size.

Generously oil a cookie sheet with evoo. Stretch out dough on the cookie sheet. Drizzle more evoo on the dough. Spread warm spaghetti sauce on top, followed by whatever you have. Lastly, top with cheese.

Leave it for about 10 min in a warm place to proof. Then pop it into a #cold oven and bake for 20 min at 180c.

This recipe makes quite a lot for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids (under 12). I usually cut it up into 8 generous portions, half for now and the other half for breakfast tomorrow. It keeps well in the fridge. Before eating, just warm it up in the oven.  Cook once, eat twice. Perfecto!

N/B The proofing time is an estimate. When the weather is cooler, it will take a longer time. When it is warmer, proofing will be faster. But nothing to fret over about. Hard to go wrong.

* hold back the last 1/4 cup of flour to see if the dough needs it. It is easier to add flour to a too wet dough than water to dry dough.

#cold oven because it is not necessary to warm up the oven for bread. And it saves one step. 😜

