Banana Muffins


image

My dear friend, Shirleen, a non-baker, non-cook, sort of invented this easy recipe.

Some time back, Shirleen moved into a new home and she bought a shiny brand new oven.  Never having baked before, she asked me for a very easy egg-free muffin recipe.  I gave her a banana muffin recipe that requires only a bowl and a spoon. No whisking or creaming needed. If you can stir, I told her, you can make.

She eagerly acquired all the ingredients and set off on her maiden bake. It was an instant hit with her kids and she managed to save the last muffin for me. No need, I said. I know how my muffins taste like. Regardless, she sent her obliging husband over to my home with that one solo muffin! Lol. When I looked at it, I realised that  it looked nothing like mine.  I was puzzled. When I bit into it, it tasted yummier! Later, I realised we had a different understanding of the meaning of the word “cup”. In baking terms, “cup” refers to the standard measuring cup (+- a bit in different countries). To her, a cup is anything that is… well… a cup. So happened, she chose a rice cup (the one that comes with the rice cooker). By using that rice cup, she had effectively cut down the amount of flour from 1.5 cups to 1 cup! It resulted in a muffin that had a lovely deep banana flavor! It was really good.

image

Ang Ba Jio                                Pang Jio

There are 2 varieties  of bananas that I usually use for eating and baking. I only know the names in Chinese dialect :  Ang Ba Jio and Pang Jio.  They are both smallish bananas compared to the Del Monte variety.  And they are very sweet and flavorful.  The more ripe, the sweeter they are.  So you may want to cut down on the sugar if yours is very ripe.  I find it quite sweet even when I use 100g of sugar and I always regret not cutting down on the sugar.

image

Vegan Banana Muffins

250g ripe bananas, skinned and mashed (about 4)

75g-100g sugar

1/3 cup virgin coconut oil or vegetable oil or melted unsalted butter

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup plain flour (about 150g)

Just lightly stir everything together.  Pour into muffin cups. At this point, I would go and turn on the oven and allow the muffins to rest for a few minutes whilst waiting for oven to heat up.  This gives the flour time to hydrate further and raising agents to work their magic.  The muffins will be puffier.

Bake at 180c for about 20 min.

*Variation: if you really really like to add an egg into the muffin, simply remove one banana. Or keep the bananas and increase the flour to 1.5 cups. If you choose to do that, don’t forget to increase the baking powder by 1/2 tsp.

So, what did I tell ya about easy banana muffin recipe? Even when it went wrong, it still turned out good!  Well, this is how new recipes are invented.

