Durian Cheesecake (no-bake)

image

So I bought about 130+ durians at one go. These were not the premium durians. Premium durians can go up to an average of $50 (and more) each. Fortunately, I don’t have a discerning taste where durians are concerned. I always tell people, “Don’t ask me if it’s good or not. As long as it’s sweet and ripe, I’ll eat it. Hey, even not sweet and ripe, I will also eat it. As long as not rotten…”. So for 20c per durian, durian snobs will turn up their noses at it. But I was happy and thrilled because nobody will fight me for my “lousy” durians. They are all MINE (*cue buahahah!) to make/bake whatever I like. Except that after I have pitted and frozen them such that they can be eaten with a spoon, they are suddenly objects of desire. I saw bags after bags of my durians disappearing from the freezer at an alarming rate. Hmmph!😕

The first durian cheesecake I made was a baked cheesecake.  It was really nice.  But this time round, I wanted to try a no-bake.  I think I prefer the baked one but this one is easier.

image

Durian cheesecake

2 blks cream cheese (room temperature)

1 cup durian pulp

1/4 cup condensed milk (to taste)

1 Tbsp gelatine (dissolved in 1/4 cup hot water)

Crust:

7-10 digestive biscuits (crushed)

50g butter(melted)

Line an 8″x8″ pan with baking paper.  Put crushed digestive biscuits and melted butter into it, mix and press.  Pop it into the oven to toast it lightly if you wish.  Leave to cool.

Beat the cream cheese, durian pulp, gelatin and condensed milk together until smooth.  Pour on top of the crust and refrigerate for many many hours.

Frankly this recipe is another one of those that I just wing it and make it up as I go along.  Everything is agak agak (estimation).  I didn’t bother to weigh/measure anything.  It’s a very forgiving recipe, hard to go wrong with a bit of common sense.

