Attap Chee Ice Cream (no-churn)

image

One of my favorite childhood ice cream is attap chee ice cream.  It’s light pink and has tiny pieces of precious attap chee inside…There’s also usually precious little attap chee inside. It is only available from the traveling ice cream man on his motorcycle with a mini freezer. To get this ice cream, we have to be on a constant ice cream man alert. When we hear the ling-a-ling-a-ling, that’s when we drop everything, grab our money and run downstairs to look for him.  The ice cream that he sells comes in  five flavors – durian, attap chee, cocoa, corn and red bean. Just so you know, our local traditional ice cream is not the rich and creamy type. It tastes more like diluted flavored milk. But it has its charm. You may have them either on a piece of rainbow colored sweet bread, a cone or in a cup. They are about a dollar each. I found out lately that the traveling ice cream man can be found hanging around outside school gates. So in an ice cream emergency, we can always look for them around schools at dismissal time.

I have always wondered why it is that we can get all the other traditional ice cream flavors in our supermarket except attap chee. How come it never occurred to anyone to sell attap chee ice cream at supermarkets?

Ah… Guess I just have to make it myself until someone else does. I tried looking for the recipe but couldn’t find it (I am beginning to suspect I might be the only one who likes attap chee ice cream!). Thus I have to make it up myself. I did find out that there is such a thing as no-churn ice cream. That’s good. I certainly don’t need another uni-tasker equipment in the kitchen.

So here is my take on attap chee ice cream based on my family and good friends’ feedback. This recipe follows the easy no-churn method.

image

Attap Chee Ice Cream

300 ml whipping cream

100 ml coconut cream

1/4 cup condensed milk

1.5 Tbsp rose syrup

1 tub attap chee (chopped)

Chill whipping cream and coconut milk in the freezer for about 1.5 hours.  Working quickly, whisk whipping cream until fluffy.  It shouldn’t take long.  Then add in coconut cream and continue whisking for another few minutes.  Add in condensed milk, rose syrup. By now it should look quite fluffy.  Lastly, fold in the attap chee.  Pour it into a container and freeze for at least 6 hours.

Yes. Must wait 6 hours.  If you can’t wait then….er…..Nothing. You just have to wait.  It will be the creamiest, smoothest, chockful of attap chee attap chee ice cream you’ll have ever eaten. It will be totally worth it.

This post is linked to the event Little Thumbs Up (October 2015 : Coconut) organised by Zoe of Bake for Happy Kids and Doreen of My Little Favourite DIY, and hosted by Jess from Bakericious.

