Sweet Potato Zeppoles

Sweet Potato Zeppoles

I only recently discovered the wondrous Italian fried donut that doesn’t have a hole. It is incredible. Firstly, it doesn’t have a hole. So I get to eat more! Haha. Secondly, I finally found a recipe that is quite close to the Chinese Buffet donuts which I used to inhale 13 over years ago in Michigan. It is squishy soft with a wonderful slight chew. It’s tasty and oh-so-light that my kids can’t stop eating! I have more self-control but just about barely. Heh. DS likened it to Krispy Kreme. I can’t say coz I haven’t had KK for over a decade. Looks like I need to get some soon. To compare. Things I do in the name of research.

Since it is our current favorite food and we are consuming them like there is no tomorrow, I couldn’t possibly just make plain Zeppoles… The recipe I found only uses plain flour and water and leavening/seasoning. No nutrition-packed egg, no calcium-rich milk, no nutritious fibrous whole grains. Thus, I had to soup it up and make our indulgence more justifiable. So enter… Sweet potatoes! Isn’t that like a nutritional powerhouse or something? But will it be just as yummy? It’s sweet potatoes! Delicious, sweet, moist, tasty Indonesian sweet potatoes. Can’t go that awfully wrong! And indeed it went wonderfully right!  Perhaps next time I can try some chopped apples, bananas, pumpkins etc. Don’t worry. It’s a very forgiving recipe. The only thing that might go wrong is if you burnt them.

image

Sweet Potato Zeppoles (makes about 25)

100g-200g Indonesian sweet potato (boiled skin on) mashed coarsely

200g plain flour

1 Tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp instant yeast

250ml water

1 tsp baking powder (to add in before frying)

peanut oil for deep frying

sugar & cinnamon or Nutella

Method:

Mix everything together in a large bowl and leave to proof for about an hour or until double its volume.  Then add in baking powder and mix. The dough will be loose. There is no way to shape it. So just get a spoon and drop spoonfuls into the hot oil and fry till puffy and golden. Then coat with cinnamon sugar. Or Nutella. Or peanut butter.

image

I made a batch last night and this morning they were still good. Pop it into the oven to warm it first if you wish. Personally, I can’t wait that long.

